top of page

Tom Brady

Ever since the tuck rule game where I, a fan at the time of the Oakland Raiders, saw the Patriots take the game and the mojo of my team in that snow game in Foxborough, I was never a fan of Tom Brady. He was saved by the refs as the hit Charles Woodson applied cause the ball to be fumbled, which I feel to this day. But the Raiders had other opportunities to win and they couldn't get it done.


I have always respected the guys ability to get the job done and his talent. But I am the type of guy that hates to see the same team win all the time. So throughout his career I have recognized he is a great player, but perhaps on a team that is an outstanding organization and a winning one and have routed for him to lose over and over for this reason. Frankly rejoicing when the Patriots would get eliminated.


But after he left New England and came to Tampa and pulled off what he did, I have to recognize him in the elite class of player that not only is a winner, but can concretely and succinctly will his team to victory. The only other player in this class I have watched is Michael Jordan. These guys are straight winners. They change the entire organization. They don't do it all themselves obviously, but they lead the charge and make things happen. I remember Jordan practically willing the team to victory. He would take the team on his back, put on his superman cape and come up with a way to win.


Not many people have this ability, but after seeing what happened this last year in Tampa, I have been converted and will say I think Brady is the greatest QB to every play.


What are the lessons? How can you teach them? It isn't easy to know. There is a confidence, there is lots of stuff behind the scenes like taking care of yourself physically and paying the price that most don't see. Some of it is belief and an almost maniacal joy of doing that which is unexpected or almost impossible.


I think Jordan had an almost mentally deranged competitiveness that drove him. He would look for anything to help motivate him to play hard and above his normal effort. Brady isn't mentally deranged like that but just has the fire to be great and to defy the odds and just fricking win. It's most unbelievable frankly to me. It certainly sets a high standard.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Science of the NFL Draft

A bit of an ironic title, because to me, there isn't much science in it. I don't have any fancy stats to give you, but the number of...

Detroit Lions

I am not a Lions fan. I have watched them quite a bit and seen lots of pain that they have caused fans from here. I think this...

Matthew Stafford

I don't have an iron in the fire for this guy. I am not a Lions fan and have no vested interest or bias. I have watched this guy for a...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page