top of page

Matthew Stafford

I don't have an iron in the fire for this guy. I am not a Lions fan and have no vested interest or bias. I have watched this guy for a while as Lions games are on obviously.


I think the guy is a good but not great quarterback. He is up and down, but can make most or all the throws and performs pretty well. In his 9 or 10 years, he has won as many playoff games as I have. I think a lot of it is not his fault but the team he plays for. He has done pretty good for not having much of a running game and many years not much of a defense.


I give the guy credit because he gives his all and is a tough guy who plays through pain and still wants to be on the field despite the fact that the team sucks. he doesn't really have much to gain but still wants to be out there despite everything. I have seen a lot of athletes that opt out or decide their own interests are more important than playing.


While I think that a bunch of his yards are from the Lions being behind and him getting some easy yards due to the defense being soft, that doesn't account for all his yards.


Is he a winner? I am not sure about that. I think he is solid but I am not sure that he is a winner. Playing this next season for the Rams is going to be really revealing much like Tom Brady's venture to Tampa was very revealing. If Stafford is still average, then I still think he is good not great. If he performs very well and takes his team to the superbowl, then I think it's fair to blame this on the Lions inept organization. We will see.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Science of the NFL Draft

A bit of an ironic title, because to me, there isn't much science in it. I don't have any fancy stats to give you, but the number of...

Detroit Lions

I am not a Lions fan. I have watched them quite a bit and seen lots of pain that they have caused fans from here. I think this...

Tom Brady

Ever since the tuck rule game where I, a fan at the time of the Oakland Raiders, saw the Patriots take the game and the mojo of my team...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page