top of page

hmm....coach fired

i was looking at facebook and noticed that Caledonia's girls basketball coach was fired. Essentially, he claimed he had no idea, and it was quick and out of the blue. he said things were looking up, even though they had three bad seasons in a row. There was one person who said that his record was bad. Most people in comments were upset he was released.


I don't know this man at all. I don't know much about his teams, other than the game or two I saw this last season. I know that when I start reading excuses about Covid and playing OK red teams, that is not a good sign to me.


He may be a good coach, but then why is his recent record so bad? The school is big enough that there should be some talent. The games I saw, they looked absolutely terrible. As I have said in previous posts, this guy would not last at my alma mater, that I am sure. In fact, my alma mater with 300 kids at the school would destroy this team, but you will have to read other posts for more details as to why.


When you don't have development at every level, you are going to have players that aren't very good compared to other places that have development. Again, I don't know how much this coach put into creating a program, or how much he did overall. But if he put in minimal time and didn't really do much other than work with his girls during the season, that is probably not going to equate to success.


I don't know much about our current AD either. Perhaps he is just done with poor records and wants to bring in people that are willing to work hard to get them. Maybe the coach that was there did this already. But I would guess not, from what I know of the culture that is currently there.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Catch up

So I have been pretty busy. This post is just to summarize what has happened during the 8 months prior. We finished school lacrosse...

lax coaching (more)

this is fun but different. first of all it's hard to find someone who knows and thoroughly understands all the rules, including that the...

No team for you

I have always said that sports have many good lessons to teach and all kids should be able to experience the positive things that sports...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page