top of page

Fish for help in Caledonia

One of the things that always frustrates me is the lack of people willing to get involved in the youth athletics programs. Today we got the annual "we need coaches and people to step up or we will have to turn kids away" email for Cal little league baseball.


Full disclaimer is my wife does coach one of the softball teams, but my two boys are not involved in the baseball program. That said, I volunteer coach for youth football, I am on the youth football board and I just volunteered to be on the lacrosse board and help coach there also.


I am sorry but I just get tired of this. There are more than enough people here that if everybody contributed in a small way, we would more than have enough help. The scheduling argument is bullshit too. If you can't help on this need because of your schedule, then help with something else that does fit into your schedule. It isn't time and schedule, it is a matter of priorities.


I hate to keep comparing but I am fairly sure that places like Hudsonville or Rockford have little trouble finding people to help with needs. See how everything filters back to the community perspective thing? (read my other posts) The attitude really reflects on everything else.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Catch up

So I have been pretty busy. This post is just to summarize what has happened during the 8 months prior. We finished school lacrosse...

lax coaching (more)

this is fun but different. first of all it's hard to find someone who knows and thoroughly understands all the rules, including that the...

No team for you

I have always said that sports have many good lessons to teach and all kids should be able to experience the positive things that sports...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page