top of page

Caledonia stuff

A couple thoughts more on some things I have about our athletics.


First......Do we need an upgraded or different football playing field? I know that many schools have more than one field to play and work with. We have one playing field that is grass. It works ok and I don't think it is the worst I have seen. The stands are large enough to fit the crowds and it is a nice fit where it is.


Grass fields are a little outdated now. There was one year where the field was in such horrible shape it was hardly playable between the hash marks. But this isn't the case every year. It generally depends on how much it rains and when. It would be nice to have a new turf field, especially if it is in addition to the current one. I heard they were going to look at building a new one but I don't know if this is true.


I can say that if you look at the nice turf field for soccer and lacrosse (Scotland Yard), it gets used quite a bit. In fact no youth teams are even allowed to set foot on it to my knowledge. If they build basically any athletic facility around here, it will get used without a doubt. I will do another post on athletic facility availability so I won't go into that here. But a new field would be nice, although doesn't need to be done immediately.


Second.....when there are things that don't work well, we need to fix them. If there are budget problems, then reach out to the boosters or the community.


For example, when the football scoreboard was flickering on and off a year or so ago (it may still do it I don't know), that kind of crap has to be fixed immediately. It really looks terrible when things like this aren't addressed. Another example is the PA system at the football stadium. it's horrible. It is one of the worst I have ever heard and needs to be fixed if it hasn't already been. There are some things that you just can't skimp on. What about the scoreboard on the freshman baseball field. Why doesn't it work? There really isn't any justification for it not working. We have electricians in our community. These are things I don't understand. There are probably other items also.


I am not saying we need to have quality game streaming broadcasts like the have at Mona Shores, but we need to make sure the basics are at least covered. This applies to anything else like band or theater or anything else that we do. Let's please not embarrass ourselves by not taking care of the basic stuff.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Catch up

So I have been pretty busy. This post is just to summarize what has happened during the 8 months prior. We finished school lacrosse...

lax coaching (more)

this is fun but different. first of all it's hard to find someone who knows and thoroughly understands all the rules, including that the...

No team for you

I have always said that sports have many good lessons to teach and all kids should be able to experience the positive things that sports...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page